Cong leader Tewari demands transparency in the election of the party’s president

(PTI) Congress MP and G-23 leader Manish Tewari has voiced his displeasure at the party’s refusal to publish the names of those who voted in the presidential election of the party and said that the names must be posted through the AICC website in order to guarantee the transparency of the process.

He also asked why those who wants to run for Congress President’s elections should visit PCC office PCC office to obtain the electoral roll since this isn’t even a requirement in a club’s election.

“With great respect Madhusudan Mistry ji How can there be a fair and free election without a publicly available electoral roll? Essence of a fair and free process is names and addresses of electors must be published on the Congress website in a transparent manner,” Tewari declared in a series tweets.

Read more PM Modi encourages people to join the campaign against malnutrition

He added that Mistry who is head of the Congress central election authority, was quoted as saying that the list is not released to the public , but if any member of our party wishes to verify the list, they may go to the PCC office. Naturally the list will be provided to candidates after they submit their nomination documents .

Tewari stated that the CWC has announced the date of Congress President’s election , but not to be more than 28 Pradesh Congress Committees (PCC’s) and eight territorial Congress Committees (TCC’s).

“Why should someone have to go to every PCC office in the country to find out who the electors are,” He asked.

“This does not happen in a club election also with great respect. In interests of fairness and transparency I urge your gods self to publish the entire list of electors on Congress website,” the Punjab MP added.

“How can someone consider running if he/she does not know who electors are. If someone has to file his/her nomination and gets it proposed by 10 Congress persons, as is requirement, the CEA can reject it saying they are not valid electors,” Tewari stated in pointing fingers at the method of voting.

Congress MP Congress MP is one of those G23 leaders who demanded an overhaul of their organisation and elections at all levels in a letter addressed to president Congress president on August of 2020.

Tewari’s apprehension comes in aftermath that of CWC member and G-23 chief Anand Sharma raising objections to the electoral process during the meeting that was held last year. CWC.

He also wanted to know if the integrity of the election procedure was carried out in accordance with the Constitution of the party.

Alongside Tewari Alongside Tewari, another G23 members Shashi Tharoor has called for elections are free and fair elections.

Another party leader Ghulam Nabi Azad quit on Friday of the AICC party, claiming that the election rolls are created by an “coterie running the AICC” and that the electoral process is an “sham and farce” while accusing the leadership of perpetrating an act of fraud against the party.

The announcement for Congress president’s elections will go published on September 22 and the procedure for filing nominations will commence on September 24 through September 30. The deadline for the to withdraw nominations is on October 8 and elections is expected to take place on October 17.

Read more Jharkhand: Woman gang-raped, 4 detained

Leave a Reply